# **City of York Council**

Resolutions and proceedings of the Meeting of the City of York Council held at the Merchant Adventurers' Hall, Fossgate, York on Thursday, 24th May, 2018, starting at 11.00 am

**Present:** The Lord Mayor Cllr Barbara Boyce in the Chair during the first part of the meeting; the Lord Mayor Councillor Keith Orrell in the Chair during the second part of the meeting and the following Councillors:

Acomb Ward	Bishopthorpe Ward
K Myers S Barnes	Galvin
Clifton Ward	Copmanthorpe Ward
D Myers Wells	
Dringhouses & Woodthorpe Ward	Fishergate Ward
Fenton Mason Reid	D'Agorne Taylor
Fulford and Heslington Ward	Guildhall Ward
Aspden	Craghill Flinders Looker
Haxby & Wigginton Ward	Heworth Ward
Cuthbertson Richardson	Boyce Funnell Williams
Heworth Without Ward	Holgate Ward
Ayre	Cannon Derbyshire

Hull Road Ward	Huntington and New Earswick Ward
N Barnes Pavlovic Shepherd	Cullwick Orrell Runciman
Micklegate Ward	Osbaldwick and Derwent Ward
Crawshaw Hayes Kramm	Brooks Warters
Rawcliffe and Clifton Without Ward	Rural West York Ward
Dew Lisle Rawlings	Gillies Steward
Strensall Ward	Westfield Ward
Doughty Douglas	Jackson Waller

## Wheldrake Ward

## Mercer

Also in attendance, Hon. Alderman Keith Wood, David Wilde, Susan Galloway, Madeleine Kirk, Richard Watson, Irene Waudby, David Horton, Ken King and Brian WJE Watson.

Apologies were received from Councillors Carr, Gates and Taylor.

#### 1. Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to declare at this point in the meeting any personal interests not included on the Register of Interests, any prejudicial interests or any disclosable pecuniary interests they might have in the business on the agenda. None were declared.

# 2. Appointment of Lord Mayor

Councillor Carol Runciman moved and Councillor Stewart Rawlings seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That Councillor Keith Orrell be elected Lord Mayor of the City of York for the ensuing municipal year.

# 3. Qualification of Lord Mayor

Councillor Keith Orrell signified Acceptance of the Office of the Lord Mayor of the City of York, subscribed the Declaration of such acceptance and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by the law in that behalf.

# 4. Appointment of Sheriff

Councillor Keith Aspden moved and Councillor Janet Looker seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That Mrs Verna Campbell be appointed Sheriff of the City of York for the ensuing municipal year.

#### 5. Qualification of Sheriff

Mrs Verna Campbell made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Sheriff for the City of York Council and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by law in that behalf.

# 6. Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Keith Orrell as Lord Mayor moved and Councillor Ian Gillies seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That Councillor Barbara Boyce be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

#### 7. Qualification of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Barbara Boyce made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of York and took the Affirmation of Allegiance prescribed by law.

# 8. Lord Mayor's Chaplain

The Lord Mayor advised Council that he had appointed Reverend and Councillor Chris Cullwick to serve as Lord Mayor's Chaplain during his year of office and expressed thanks to him for undertaking that office.

#### 9. Sheriff's Humanist Celebrant and Under Sheriff

The Sheriff advised Council that she had appointed Sue Humphries to serve as her Humanist Celebrant and Honorary Alderman Richard Watson to serve as Under Sheriff during her year of office and expressed her thanks to them for undertaking these services to the City.

# 10. Vote of Thanks to Outgoing Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress

Councillor Johnny Hayes moved and Councillor Dafydd Williams seconded and Council unanimously

Resolved: That the Council express its sincere thanks to the outgoing Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress for their services to the city during the past municipal year

# 11. Vote of Thanks to Outgoing Sheriff and Sheriff's Consort

Councillor Stuart Barnes moved and Councillor Andy D'Agorne seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That the Council expressed its sincere thanks to the outgoing Sheriff and Sheriff's Consort for their services to the city during the past municipal year.

# 12. Formal Business of Council - Allocation to Seats and Appointments to the Council Structure and Other Bodies for 2018/19 and Allocation of Motions

With reference to the recommendations contained at paragraph 18 of the report at page 7 of the Council papers, Councillor Ian Gillies moved the recommendations, which were seconded by Councillor Andrew Waller, namely the allocation of places and Councillors to Committees and other bodies for 2018/19 as shown in the republished papers circulated at the meeting, as well as the proposed allocation of motions for consideration at Ordinary Full Council meetings for the 2018/19 municipal year.

It was then:

Resolved: That Council;

- I. Agrees the allocation of seats in accordance with Annex A circulated at the meeting and republished online
- II. Approves the nominations to Committees, other bodies and outside bodies, including the appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs to committees, at Annex B, as circulated at the meeting and set out online in the republished papers for the meeting
- III. Approve the proposed allocation of motions for consideration at Ordinary Full Council meetings for the duration of the 2018/19 Municipal Year, at Annex C to the report.

Reason: To fulfil the Council's statutory requirements.

Cllr Keith Orrell
Lord Mayor of York
[The meeting started at 11.00 am and concluded at 12.05 pm]